Sewing on Paper

image1-1

I remember the first time I drove a car.

I was nervous yet excited at the same time. As an eighteen year old, the adrenaline rush of tasting what it’s like to be an independent adult made me feel giddy enough to have a hard time operating the pedals of a manual car. I was trying to concentrate on what the driving instructor was telling me and also trying to keep the smile off my face that it took almost half an hour just to maneuver around the parking lot. I’m telling you about my driving experience because the memory suddenly popped out of my head on my first day of sewing class. There are a lot to be observed when operating a sewing machine. Majority of which I still cannot confidently explain to you but the same can be applied as driving a car. There’s a spinning wheel to drive your fabric into, and there’s also a foot pedal to run the machine. I wish I could tell you how easy it is to stitch up pieces of fabric but it requires a lot of patience and a whole lot of finesse of footwork. I was given a few sheets of paper with printed lines and was asked to run it through the machine following the lines. Needless to say, what should have been a piece of cake turned out to be a disaster. The first patch of paper I worked with are simple straight lines. Don’t be deceived by its simplicity because there’s nothing simple about controlling the machine.

image1-1

As you can see, the first few lines are a mass of squiggles. I cannot straighten up the lines hard as I try.

image2the first set of patchwork I was given. The left side is the patter, the right side is the backside of the paper of my needlework.

The second set of prints are a little bit better but not by much.

image1

If you think that’s laughable, you should have seen the look on my face when I actually broke the needle of the sewing machine I was using. A needle. How do you even break a needle?

Its definitely time to take out my portable brother sewing machine my husband got me for Christmas.

 

Love,

Andy

Leave a Reply

