Toddler Friendly Meal: Healthy Broccoli and Cheese Soup

I’m pretty positive that all moms, at one point have asked this question: What do you feed your kid? Like most moms, I struggle with providing a meal, let alone a healthy balanced one, to my kid. I’m not the type who likes to cook or bake on my free times even before I got married, so that gives you an idea on my cooking skills. I have about 5 established meals that I rotate in serving my kid. (Poor, poor child. Mommy has been unintentionally depriving you of the finer things in life.) This is why I was so psyched when I thought of a new and healthy dish to serve my daughter. I came upon the idea when my mother in law offered me broccoli. She bought too much and asked if I wanted some. I almost turned down the offer but thought better of it.

image1-13

I’ve been thinking what to do with the veggie and came up with this: Broccoli and Cheese Soup!

image1-27

I know, I know, it’s not even a new dish. This amateur cook is trying. Anyway, I looked up the Internet and it’s loaded with sodium and heavy cream so I changed some of the ingredients to make it toddler friendly healthy dish.

Here are the ingredients I used:

1 cup fresh milk

1 cup grated melting cheese

3 onions, peeled and sliced into four

3 cups fresh broccoli, chopped

1 teaspoon butter

Chicken stock (just use plain water if you don’t have stock)

Salt and pepper to taste

The measurements are all estimates. I’m not the type who follows measurements strictly. I usually add a little bit of the ingredients when I cook and rely on my taste pallet to create a dish so it’s always up to my liking, and I can adjust accordingly.

For the procedure:

  1. Boil the broccolis in water or chicken stock

image1-28

2. In a separate pan, sauté the onions in butter

image1-31

3. Add the boiled broccoli in the sautéed onions pan

image1-28

4. Simmer for 5 minutes

5. Put it in blender

image1-29

6. Put back in pot, add grated cheese

image1-30

7. Add milk

8. Stir, and simmer for additional 10 minutes

9. Salt and pepper to taste

I just mixed everything up and taste as I go to get the right blend I wanted for my daughter. I cut down on heavy cream and used full cream milk instead, for health reasons. The onions are for added taste since I only placed a pea sized salt in the soup. If you have time to spare, you can make the chicken stock from chicken bones (ask your local market for it) and simmer it with stalks of celery and carrots for better nutritional value. If not, then plain water will do.

And this is the finished product.

image1-14

Today’s healthy lunch consists of sautéed pork and bean with fresh tomatoes, rice, and broccoli and cheese soup

My toddler is in short of vocalizing her preferences for now so I’ll take her actions of not spitting it out as a good sign.

Happy eating!

Love,

Andy

Leave a Reply

