Top 5 Creepy Books This Mommy Recommends

I think all moms everywhere would agree with me when I say we just couldn’t wait for the baby to go to bed at night so we can sneak off to do actual things that we want. Beside chores, I look forward to locking myself in the closet after the baby sleeps and indulge in a good book or two (Baby co-sleeps with hubby and me so im forced in the closet).

I enjoy a whole range of literary fiction. Particularly, I’m partial to romance and, for some reason, to children/young adult gore fantasy.

Here are a few books that I’ve enjoyed immensely before they were made into movies in no particular order.

  1. Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

876c5aa2e98ae509c7126074f25f2cec

If you liked Hunger Games, then I suggest you grab this book ASAP. It has similar gist but minus the fantasy and more realistic plot. Here’s a group of Japanese high school teenagers that went on a school trip only to find out that it’s a whole lot different than what they signed up for. They actually made a movie on this. This book is one of my favorites of all time.

  1. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

51tAOAlaH7L._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_

Neil Gaiman will always hold a special place in my heart. His stories are so articulate that always leaves me wanting more. This book is about a boy who was raised by ghosts habitating a (obviously) graveyard when the boy’s family was murdered one night.

  1. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline

Another Neil Gaiman favorite! If you haven’t seen the movie yet, then it’s about a girl who went exploring around the new house her family just moved in and found a passageway that leads exactly the opposite of where she is, with the same set of mom and dad, only different. I know this is a children’s book but this one gave me creeps!

  1. Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children Trilogy by Ransom Riggs

missperegrine_334x518

Another book that was made into a movie. When I read this way back in 2012, I was immediately hooked and finished the book in one sitting. The story just flowed and makes you keep coming back for more. The story tells of an orphanage home for children with special abilities. These abilities can range from girls who are ten times stronger than a full grown man, to boys who can foresee the future.

  1. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Graham-Smithe

PrideandPrejudiceandZombiesCover

Taken from Jane Austen’s book Pride and Prejudice, the author gave it a modern twist and played with the plot. If you like zombies, then this one is perfect for you. its set in the 19th century England where zombies roamed as free as stray dogs in the streets where the Bennet sisters took their roles as some sort of zombie fighters.

The movie wasn’t anywhere near as good but the book definitely gave a punch.

 

What activities do you enjoy during baby-free me time?

 

Happy Reading!

 

Love,

Andy

Leave a Reply

